

Agenda

37th meeting of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors 14-15 March 2023

Square Freres Orban 8, 1049 Brussels, room 4/66, hybrid for experts and SAPEA/YASAS

1st meeting day: 14 March 2023

- 1. Welcome and adoption of the agenda and the minutes of the 36th plenary meeting 15:00-15:10
- 2. Ongoing and possible future scientific advice

15:10-18:00

- a) Sustainable food consumption
- b) Candidate topics

19:00 Dinner

2nd meeting day: 15 March 2023

3. Exchange with Antonio Loprieno, chairman of the SAPEA board (Scientific Advice for Policy by European Academies)

10:00 - 11:00

- a) Progress towards a common SAM brand
- b) Candidate topics

- coffee break - (11:00-11:30)

4. Exchange on outreach activities and synergies

11:30 - 12:30

- a) Communication plan for sustainable food consumption and handover
- b) R&I days
- c) S4P conference and input from Advisors on staff working document
- d) Policy impact
- e) Strategic discussion on advisors' participation in events list of events
- 5. AOB

12:30 - 12:45

List of Participants

Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Nicole Grobert, Chair, (excused);

Nebojsa Nakicenovic, Deputy Chair;

Éva Kondorosi, Member;

Maarja Kruusmaa, Member;

Alberto Melloni, Member;

Eric Lambin, Member:

Eva Zažímalová, Member.

Science Advice to Policy by European Academies (SAPEA)

Antonio Loprieno, President All European Academies (ALLEA), Chairman of SAPEA Board, agenda point 3;

Rudolf Hielscher, SAPEA Coordinator, agenda point 3.

Observers

Jacek Kolanowski, Head of the Department of Molecular Probes and Pro-drugs and the Center for High-throughput Screening Research at the Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry of the Polish Academy of Science in Poznań, and standing delegate for the Polish Young Academy; agenda point 3;

Helen Eenmaa, Researcher in Information Technology at the School of Law at the University of Tartu, and standing delegate for the Estonian Young Academy of Sciences; agenda point 3.

Other participants (invited experts)

Janusz Bujnicki, Professor, Head of the Laboratory of Bioinformatics and Protein Engineering, International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Warsaw, agenda point 2;

Carina Keskitalo, Professor of Political Science, Department of Geography and Economic History, Umeå University, agenda point 2;

Rolf Heuer, former Director-General of CERN, President of the SESAME Council, agenda point 2;

Pearl Dykstra, Professor of Sociology, Erasmus University in Rotterdam, agenda point 2.

European Commission

Gilles Laroche, DG RTD, Head of Unit 03 – Science Policy, Advice and Ethics (excused);

Jacques Verraes, DG RTD, Deputy Head of Unit 03 – Science Policy, Advice and Ethics:

|--|

Ingrid Zegers, DG RTD, Unit 03 – Science Policy, Advice and Ethics, SAM team leader;

Annabelle Ascher, DG RTD, Unit 03 – Science Policy, Advice and Ethics, Head of the Secretariat of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors;

Additional members of the unit depending on topic discussion.

3