

Agenda

31st meeting of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors 16 September 2021 Videoconference (via Webex)

Start: 9:00

- 1. Welcome and adoption of the agenda and the minutes of the 30th plenary meeting 9:00 - 9:10
- 2. Exchange with Patrick Child, Deputy Director-General of DG RTD Lessons learnt and outlook of the Scientific Advice Mechanism 9:10 - 9:30
- 3. Ongoing and possible future scientific advice

9:30 - 10:15

- a. Cancer screening
- b. Crisis Management

- coffee break - (10:15-10:30)

4. Exchange with Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President for Inter-institutional Relations and Foresight with the participation of Patrick Child

10:30 - 11:30

5. Exchange on outreach activities and synergies

11:30 - 12:30

- Lunch break - (12:30-13:45)

6. Exchange with Antonio Loprieno (President of ALLEA) and chairman of SAPEA board (Science Advice for Policy by European Academies)

13:45 - 14:45

7. AOB

14:45 - 15:30

- Update by the Secretariat
- Election or Re-election of the chair of the Group

End: 15:30

List of Participants

Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Nicole Grobert, Chair; Nebojsa Nakicenovic, Deputy Chair; Éva Kondorosi, Member; Maarja Kruusmaa, Member; Alberto Melloni, Member; Eric Lambin, Member; Eva Zažimalová, Member.

SAPEA (Science Advice to Policy by European Academies)

Antonio Loprieno (President ALLEA), Chairman of SAPEA Board, agenda point 6; Rudolf Hielscher, SAPEA Coordinator, agenda point 6; Toby Wardman, SAPEA head of Communications, agenda point 6.

Other participants (invited experts)

Pearl Dykstra, Professor of Sociology, Erasmus University Rotterdam, agenda point 3b, 4; Scira Menoni, Professor of Urban and Regional Planning, Politecnico di Milano.

Observers

Jacek Kolanowski, President of YASAS & Vice-chair of Polish Young Academy; agenda point 6; Moniek Tromp, Vice- Chair of YASAS, agenda point 6.

European Commission

Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President for Inter-institutional Relations and Foresight; Juraj Nociar, Head of Cabinet of VP Šefčovič;

Dimitri Lorenzani, Cabinet of VP Šefčovič;

Patrick Child, Deputy Director-General DG RTD;

Jacques Verraes, DG RTD, (acting) Head of Unit 03 -Science Policy, Advice and Ethics;

Ingrid Zegers, DG RTD, Unit 03 -Science Policy, Advice and Ethics, SAM team leader;

Annabelle Ascher, DG RTD, Unit 03 -Science Policy, Advice and Ethics, Secretary of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors;

Vita Volante, DG RTD, Unit 03 -Science Policy, Advice and Ethics, Secretariat of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors;

Additional members of the unit depending on topic discussion.