

Agenda

35th meeting of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors 11-12 October 2022 Venue: Square Freres Orban 8, 1049 Brussels, 4th floor, Room A149 - hybrid

1st meeting day: 11 October 2022

- 1. Welcome and adoption of the agenda and the minutes of the 34th plenary meeting 14:00 -14:05
- 2. Ongoing and possible future scientific advice 14:05-16:30
 - a) Sustainable food consumption
 - b) Strategic crisis management in the EU
 - c) Follow-up of finished opinions
 - d) Candidate topics

- coffee break - (16:30-17:00)

 Exchange with Barbara Prainsack, Chair of the European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies 17:00 – 18:00

19:30 Dinner

2nd meeting day: 12 October 2022

- **4.** Exchange on outreach activities and synergies 9:30 10:30
- 5. Exchange on the amendment of the decision establishing the Group of Scientific Advisors 10:30-11:30

```
- coffee break – (11:30-11:45)
```

- 6. Exchange with Antonio Loprieno (President of ALLEA) and chairman of the SAPEA board (Scientific Advice for Policy by European Academies) 11:45 – 12:45
- Exchange on Staff Working Document on 'Supporting and Connecting Policymaking in the EU and Member States with Scientific Research' 12:45 – 13:30
- 8. AOB

List of Participants

<u>Group of Chief Scientific Advisors</u> Nicole Grobert, Chair (excused); Nebojša Nakićenović, Deputy Chair; Éva Kondorosi, Member; Maarja Kruusmaa, Member; Alberto Melloni, Member; Eric Lambin, Member; Eva Zažímalová, Member.

Science Advice to Policy by European Academies (SAPEA)

Antonio Loprieno (President All European Academies (ALLEA), Chairman of SAPEA Board, agenda point 6; Rudolf Hielscher, SAPEA Coordinator, agenda point 6; Toby Wardman, SAPEA Head of Communications, agenda point 6.

Other participants (invited experts)

Barbara Prainsack, Chair of the European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies (EGE), agenda point 3;

Janusz Bujnicki, Professor, Head of the Laboratory of Bioinformatics and Protein Engineering, International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Warsaw, agenda point 2;

Carina Keskitalo, Professor of Political Science, Department of Geography and Economic History,Umeå University, agenda point 2;

Pearl Dykstra, Professor of Sociology, Erasmus University in Rotterdam, agenda point 2.

European Commission

Gilles Laroche, DG RTD, Head of Unit 03 – Science Policy, Advice and Ethics; Jacques Verraes, DG RTD, Deputy Head of Unit 03 – Science Policy, Advice and Ethics; Kristian Krieger, DG JRC, Policy Officer, Unit H1 - Knowledge for Policy (Concepts & Methods); Alessandro Allegra, DG RTD, Policy Assistant to Deputy Director-General Joanna Drake; Ingrid Zegers, DG RTD, Unit 03 – Science Policy, Advice and Ethics, SAM team leader; Annabelle Ascher, DG RTD, Unit 03 – Science Policy, Advice and Ethics, Head of the Secretariat of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors;

Vita Volante, DG RTD, Unit 03 – Science Policy, Advice and Ethics, Secretariat of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors.

Additional members of the unit depending on topic discussion.